Home / Scholarships / DAAD Masters and PhD Scholarships for Africans
DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) logo
DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) logo

DAAD Masters and PhD Scholarships for Africans

In-Country/ In-Region Scholarships for Postgraduates

DAAD is offering Master and PhD scholarships for African students. These scholarships are available to pursue postgraduate degree programmes outside their home country at selected networks or centres of excellence.   

The objective of this scholarship programme is to promote the development of university teaching staff in universities and build capacity for staff in public sector through postgraduate training for in select postgraduate study programmes within the institutions listed below:

Applicants should apply to the institution of choice using the contacts and the method that is prescribed by the institution. The institutions have set their own deadlines. Only the shortlisted applicants can apply for the DAAD scholarship in the DAAD Portal.

 Value of Scholarship:

 University fees, research allowance, monthly stipend, travel allowance (where applicable), health insurance (where applicable) and the possibility of a short study visit to Germany within the period of the scholarship.

Postgraduate Programmes eligible for In-Country/ In-Region Scholarships in Eastern Africa, 2017/ 2018

Communication, Computer Science and IT

Engineering, Technology, Urban Planning, Environmental and Resources Management

Health Sciences, Medicine, Psychology, Veterinary Medicine


Mathematics, Economics, Business, Management

Natural Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Agriculture, Horticulture, Forestry, Earth Sciences, Natural Resources, Food Science)


Social Sciences, Governance, Development, Education

Postgraduate Studies in Central/ Southern/ West Africa

In-Country Scholarships for Postgraduates

DAAD offers Master and PhD scholarships to national candidates for postgraduate degree programmes at selected universities in Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Sudan, and Zimbabwe.

The programme is open to national staff members of public universities and fully chartered universities (or candidates considered for teaching or research staff recruitment) or from the public sector aiming at a Master or doctorate degree in a discipline with strong relevance to national development (including the applied Social Sciences, environmental and other special areas of Law, but excluding the Humanities and Fine Arts).

There is no age limit but the previous degree must not be older than 6 years at the time of application. The applicant needs a Bachelor degree with at least second upper (please calculate from the transcripts if the degree is not graded) for the Master scholarship, and a Master degree for the PhD scholarship. Applications from female candidates as well as applicants from less privileged groups and regions are encouraged.

You will find application requirements and deadlines of the participating universities via the country links above in due time.

In-Region Scholarships for Postgraduates

DAAD offers Master and PhD scholarships to African candidates for postgraduate degree programmes outside their home country at selected networks or centres of excellence. The main purpose is to support the development of young staff members and particularly qualified students in fields of study that are development-related.

Scholarships are currently available for postgraduate degree programmes at the following networks/centres (please check the application requirements and deadlines following the links):

Forschen A-h 190Basic / Natural Sciences & Mathematics

AIMS – African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (South Africa)

IMSP – Institut de Mathématique et de Sciences Physiques (Benin)

PTCI – Programme de Troisiéme Cycle Interuniversitaire en economie (Burkina Faso)

CERAAS – Centre d’Etudes Régional pour l’Amelioration de l’Adaption à la Sécheresse (Senegal)

ICIPE/ARPPIS Ghana – African Regional Postgraduate Programme in Insect Studies

WACCI – West Africa Centre for Crop Improvement

LawSocial Sciences and Law

CESPAM – Centre of Specialisation in Public Administration and Management (Botwana)

CEPACS – Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Ibadan (Nigeria)

Human Rights – Centre for Human Rights, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria (South Africa)

ACMS – African Centre for Migration and Society (South Africa)

CESAG – Centre Africain d’Etudes Supérieures en Gestion (Senegal)

EngineeringEngineering & Water

2iE – Institut Internationald’Ingénieurs de I’Eau et de I’Environnement


APFP – African Paediatric Fellowship Programme (South Africa)

For verification and more details go to http://nairobi.daad.de/en/22515/index.html

Let family and friends see this too by sharing....Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

Check Also

African Graduates

Hanken School of Economics Masters Scholarships, Finland

Scholarship Summary Hanken’s Scholarship Scheme is open to non-EU/EEA students to pursue master’s degree programme for …

error: Content is protected !!